The Fall of Gilneas – Chapter 9: Respite at Greymane Manor

The Fall of Gilneas

Chapter 9: Respite at Greymane Manor

“You thought you were safe behind your wall, that you could cut out the ills of the world…” a sinister voice whispered through the darkness. “We are the consequence…the retribution for decades of cowardice.”

The bodies of the worgen appeared before me. The poor woman who had been strung up onto the scarecrow’s post hung over the other lifeless forms. They were helpless in the face of the Forsaken. They were gentle folk – more cured by Krennan’s serum than I. For some reason, something took over me – a vicious, bloodthirsty frenzy – when I fought. Why couldn’t they? If I had been there, would they still be alive?

 “Those beasts were expendable!” This time, it was Godfrey’s voice piecing the nothingness around me. “They…you…are enemies of Gilneas just as much as those blasted undead. The only difference between them and you is we could use you for the time being. But you can’t shake off what you are…you are a curse…a plague on our country. You are dangerous!”

The worgen faded and I found myself in the sanctuary of Light’s Dawn. There was a strange dark haze hanging about the room, obscuring my vision. A shadow jumped out at me and I instinctively swung at it with my claws. I heard an agonized and distinctly human scream. The shadow became clear and I found myself staring at the terrified face of the fat man I had attacked in the city…in my own bedroom. I had nearly ripped out his throat.

The shadows dispersed and I was surrounded by bodies. Quivering, I inspected the twisted and gnarled faces of the corpses. They were the faces of every Gilnean I had attacked…whether they were Crowley’s men in the cathedral or the guards at Keel Harbor. Each face was etched into my brain.

Tears began to accumulate in my eyes. All of these people were dead because of me. I looked around in devastation. There were so many. Another small group materialized near the wall – five more humans. They were pinned to the wall with Forsaken blades. I don’t know how I could recognize them, but I knew they had to be the Hayward brothers.

The heads of all of the bodies turned towards me, their dead eyes fixated directly on my face. I took a step back and their heads followed me, staring at me with accusing eyes. They knew it was me. I had killed every single one of them.

“I’m sorry,” I managed to mutter, unable to avoid their haunting stares. I kept repeating it.

Slowly, each of the bodies rose from the ground. “You monster!” they chanted. “Beast!” They kept taunting me. “You murderous mongrel!” The freshly animated corpses ambled towards me, reaching out as if trying to grab me.

“I didn’t mean it…”I gasped, tears now rolling down the side of my face. “I didn’t want for any of you to die.” They continued to chant their accusations at me as they advanced. “I’m sorry!” I felt my butt hit the railing by the baptismal pool.

There was nowhere for me to go. They were closing in on me, moaning and crying for justice. Just then, a figure loomed over them and looked down at me through a pair of small, circular glasses. “Worgen filth…for crimes against Gilneas and its people, I sentence you to death,” Lord Godfrey commanded.

The bodies of the dead moved in. I heard splashing behind me and an arm wrapped around my neck I gasped and tried to free myself, but its hold was tight.

“We knew you couldn’t be trusted,” a familiar voice whispered in my ear. Daniel? With a forceful yank, he pulled me over the railing and into the water. His arm remained locked around my throat as I sank deeper and deeper into the pool. The light faded as I descended. I struggled to free myself, but I kept being dragged further into the depths.

 As the darkness enveloped me, I caught sight of the green-glowing form of Gwen floating in front of me. She reached out, perhaps trying to help me. I stretched out my arm, trying to grab her inviting hand, but the gap between us was widening faster and faster.

I tried to cry out, but nothing came out but a cloud of bubbles. After a moment, even she faded into the darkness of the abyss.

***

My eyes fluttered open. I was lying on my side on what felt like a thin mat on the floor. I could see other cushions in front of me with people lying down. My entire body ached and I let out a quiet groan.

Slowly, I rolled over onto my back. Someone was leaning over me. My eyes focused quickly and I recognized Melinda Hammond.

“Oh good, you’re awake,” she commented quietly.

“What happened?” I questioned groggily.

“You passed out when you arrived in the manor. You were running a fever. I volunteered to tend to you,” Melinda informed me. “Your father and friend finally went to sleep not too long ago. They were hoping to be here when you woke back up,” she added.

“How long was I out?”

“Only about twelve hours. It’s pretty early in the morning. How are you feeling?” she inquired, pressing the back of her hand against my furry forehead. “I will be honest, it is hard for me to tell if you are still overheated.”

I closed my eyes for a moment, mentally scanning my body. My muscles were still weak and sore, but I felt otherwise intact. My head was pounding in my skull and my throat was dry. But I was alive. “I feel fine. A little thirsty,” I responded.

She smiled. “I’ll be right back, then,” she announced before standing. Melinda stepped around other mats and glided out of the room.

I laid there for a moment, staring at the ceiling and hoping my headache would subside. Finally, I pushed myself up and sat on the mat. At first, I cradled my head in my hands, nursing my pulsating temples. I noticed I was wearing clean clothes. They must not have wanted a half-naked worgen lying around. I couldn’t help but realize that my fur was dry and clean. Did someone actually wash me? It was a strange thought. Why would they bother? I recalled my dream; I was a monster in so many eyes. Why would anyone take the trouble to clean me up?

Melinda came back a few minutes later with a goblet. Carefully, she knelt down next to me and handed the cup to me. I graciously took it and lapped it up, too thirsty to care how I looked while doing it.

“Better?”

I nodded, letting out a satisfied sigh. “Thank you.” We sat there quietly for a bit. “So what happened to Duskhaven?” I asked.

“As far as I know, nothing has changed. The evacuation is finished and the people are safe,” she responded. “But I have no idea what happens now. If the Forsaken are still out there, I don’t imagine we can stay here forever. But we’re safe for now,” she sighed.

“Where are your children?”

“They’re sleeping. They’ve had a long day. Though probably not as long as yours.” She placed her hand on the back of mine. I fought the instinct to withdraw as her fingers brushed against the fur. “Thank you, again, for keeping my family safe.”

I looked away. “It was the least I could do,” I responded. I wondered if it in any way began to make up for my other sins. I glanced back up at Melinda. She looked tired and worried. “Thank you for looking after me. Please, you should go be with your children and get some rest.”

“You sure you’re alright?”

“I’m not going anywhere. Don’t worry,” I promised. I wasn’t sure I even trusted my body to move yet.

She smiled. “Then I’ll take my leave. I’m sure the kids will be happy to see you’re alright when they wake.” With that, she rose and left me at my little makeshift bed.

I fell back onto the cushion and stared at the ceiling. My headache was a little bit better after having the water. My stomach grumbled, but I tried to ignore it. I could wait until later in the morning. I could avoid being a bother a little longer.

In the peace of the early morning, I could hear quite a bit around me. There were intermittent sniffles and groans from the resting survivors around me. There were quiet murmurs, possibly coming from the next room over. How many people could they pack in here? My stomach twisted again. And do they have enough food? For how long?

I was sure the king and the mayor were devising a way to keep the people safe; I just wish I had the peace of mind to know what that plan was. My mind darted from one question to another. But my body was still weak enough that it was fairly easy to drift to sleep.

I didn’t dream – or, at least, I don’t remember dreaming. When I returned to consciousness, I felt a hand stroking my mane. An enticing aroma met my nostrils; it was cooked meat. Not just any meat…bacon! As I opened my eyes, I came face to face with Daniel’s friendly visage.

“You’re up,” he sighed as our eyes locked. He brought his hand forward, resting it on the side of my face and rubbing his thumb along my furry cheek. “Thank the Light.”

I didn’t know what to say. Again the beautiful scent of bacon floated into m awareness. My stomach growled very audibly. “Do I smell bacon?” I asked dumbly. Wow; smooth, Naomi. But my tummy had pretty much taken over my thoughts.

Daniel smiled. “I thought you might be hungry,” he chuckled. Gently, he helped me sit up before offering me a plate with a small mountain of thin bacon strips. The smell was overpowering; my mouth began to water.

“Holy Light, I love you,” I exclaimed, snatching up a strip and nearly inhaling it. This is heavenly! It took me a moment to realize what I had said. I blinked a couple of times and stared over at Daniel.

He had a strange smile on his face. “I know yesterday was crazy, to say the least, but…” He cleared his throat. “Have you had a chance to, you know, think about us?” he asked.

I shoveled another couple slices of bacon into my mouth to buy myself some time. I couldn’t help but dwell on the dream I’d had before. I thought about Lord Godfrey’s words and the fear-filled eyes that turned my way every time I walked down the streets of Duskhaven. I recalled how the barmaid had told my father that they wouldn’t serve me.

I swallowed. “Daniel…I still don’t know if that’s a good idea,” I finally responded, despite everything that I wanted.

His face fell. “Why?” His voice was wrought with disappointment.

“Think of what it would do to your reputation,” I pointed out. “People are afraid of me. People hate me.”

“I don’t think that’s true,” he responded.

I looked away. “I don’t know if you didn’t notice, but people hate my kind. I know you look at me and see me, but they all just see a worgen,” I protested.

“That may have been true before; but after yesterday I’m pretty sure things have changed,” Daniel countered. “They all know what you did down on the coast. Miss Allen and Miss Hammond made sure to spread the word. I wouldn’t be surprised if people didn’t start warming up to you.”

I looked down, grabbing another strip of bacon and munching on it pensively. “I don’t know,” I sighed.

“And for what it’s worth, I don’t care about my reputation,” he claimed. Daniel repositioned himself to sit beside me. I couldn’t help but be reminded of how much bigger my body was than his. “I’m hearing that you’re still scared. What I’m not hearing is that your feelings for me haven’t changed, Poppet,” he stated calmly. He reached up and planted his hand on top of my head, between my ears, and began to stroke my fur. “So what do you say? With everything that’s going on, doesn’t it make sense to have someone you can hold close?”

“I…I guess,” I responded after a moment. I don’t honestly know why I was still hesitant. My dream kept coming back to me. I guess part of me still believed I didn’t deserve to be happy. I wanted to fight against that. “There’s still a lot I need to figure out,” I told him.

“Then let me help you figure it out,” he offered, leaning his head on my shoulder.

I was quiet, taking more pieces of bacon to give me an excuse not to say anything. I wondered if wat he said was true. Were the people starting to accept me? If they could look beyond my past, couldn’t I?

My father walked in with Krennan. He seemed excited to see me awake. “Naomi! Thank the Light. Are you feeling better?” he asked immediately. I nodded, watching his face as his eyes darted from me to Daniel and back. How would Daddy feel about all of this?

Krennan shuffled forward and gave me my daily dose of the serum. “I’m glad to see you made it through everything in one piece,” he stated sincerely.

I downed it and grimaced. It successfully washed away the delicious after-taste of my breakfast, replacing it with that putrid sensation. My father was holding a goblet, which he promptly handed to me. The water was able to wash out the taste a little bit.

“I’m sure you have some catching up you need to do with your family and friends, Naomi. But, if possible, could I have a word with you sometime later?” Krennan requested.

I nodded. “I will find you soon,” I assured him. He nodded and shuffled away. That’s odd….I wonder what he wants.

My father took a seat near me. “So I have been hearing some wild rumors about what happened yesterday. Are they true?”

I sighed and began to recount the events down near the coast. I tried to leave out some of the more graphic details. I also felt compelled to leave out the part about me going into some kind of blood frenzy. I didn’t want anyone knowing I might be losing control. I didn’t even want to think about it.

They listened attentively. They could tell that certain parts were difficult for me to talk about and offered encouragement. Finally, I finished the story with the ride up to the manor.

“My daughter, the hero,” my father laughed. “I could get used to it.” I averted my eyes. I don’t feel like a hero.

After chatting a bit longer, they helped me stand. I took a few uneasy steps as I established my balance. I was still pretty sore, but I was recovering quickly. I stretched out, letting out a massive yawn while I did and displaying my monstrous teeth.

I took a quick opportunity to survey the room I had slept in. There were rows of cots on the ground. There were a few survivors still lying down, but most of them were empty. The room was gigantic, but nothing compared to what I remembered from the entry hall. There were piles of luggage everywhere that there weren’t sleeping mats.

“So, what now?” Daniel asked.

I looked between the two important men in my life. “There are some people I need to meet with. Can I meet up with you again at lunch time?” I requested. I don’t know why, but I felt like I needed to do this alone.

“Take whatever time you need,” my father responded, albeit reluctantly.

“Are you sure you don’t want company?” Daniel offered.

I shook my head. “I swear I won’t do anything stupid. I mean, how much trouble can I get into here?” I pointed out, forcing a laugh.

“Well, if it’s here, you’ll find it, Love,” he responded.

“That’s probably true,” I affirmed. I gave them both a careful hug before they left me to my own devices.

I made my way out of the room. I could hear my claws clicking on the tile floor as I walked. I emerged an enormous, open room. There was a magnificent staircase off to my left. I recognized it as the entry hall. There were people everywhere – standing in groups, sitting on the floor, and wandering around. I could see more stacks of luggage lining the walls and covering up whatever decorations the royal family had displayed.

I wandered through the groups, looking for one of the people I needed to meet with. Like Daniel had indicated, the glances I was getting from the other Gilneans was considerably less harsh. Some of them even looked at me in admiration. Of course, none of them came to talk to me, but it was a start.

I smelled food; not just bacon. I kept sniffing the air, following the scent into another room. This room was incredibly long with a table running the entire length. Dozens of platters and bowls were strewn across the table. Servants were hustling about, replacing empty platters and the like. Again, the question of how long they could feed everyone popped into my head. For now, it looked like they were feeding us like aristocrats. I thought about browsing the table to grab some more food, but I had had more than enough bacon for one person. I was sure we would have to start cutting back soon and there were other people more deserving of food.

After surveying the room, I realized that Krennan, Lorna, and Mayor Armstead were not there. I began to leave the room.

“Miss Worgen!” I heard series of youthful voices exclaim. James, Ashley, and little Cynthia Hammond ran up to me and threw their arms around my legs. Their mother wandered up behind them and watching her children with an amused smile.

I crouched down to their level. “Hey, you three! Do you guys like it here?” I asked.

James shrugged. “It’s okay,” he responded. “It’s crowded.”

“But those mean things aren’t here,” Ashley pointed out.

Cynthia didn’t say anything. Instead, she reached under the end of my pants legs to put her little hands on my fur.

“I told them you woke up early this morning and they wanted to find you,” Melinda informed me.

I grinned as I stood back up. “I’m really glad you are all safe,” I told them. I looked back to their mother. I asked if she had seen any of the people I was looking for.

“I think I saw Mister Aranas just outside the manor, near the banister overlooking the stables,” Melinda responded. “And Mayor Armstead was wandering about a short time ago, but I can’t say I know where she is now.”

I thanked her and managed to separate myself from the children, promising to see them later. Cynthia was the hardest to get away from. I don’t know why, but the little girl seemed to really like me. It was a great little confidence boost.

I stepped around them and out of the dining room. I made my way straight for the exit of the manor. I hesitated at the door. Is it still raining out? My fur’s finally dry…and clean… I wasn’t terribly excited about the prospects of feeling filthy again. Shaking my head, I finally threw the door open.

Luckily, it wasn’t raining. Sadly, though, I was not met with warmth and sunshine. The skies were dim and grey. I could see lightning arcing across the clouds off in the distance and the sky threatened to open up at any moment. No matter how long I lived here, it always astounded me how quickly the weather shifted here in Gilneas. The air was chilly, very much unlike the last couple of mornings. It was the first time I was actually remotely thankful to be covered in fur; the cool air was much more tolerable.

I glanced around. There were guards patrolling around everywhere. But there was no trace of the Forsaken. I couldn’t even detect their foul scent on the wind drifting up from Duskhaven. Oddly enough, everything was quiet.

I caught sight of Krennan speaking with someone near the stairs. I thought I recognized the other person, but her back was turned to me, so I couldn’t be sure. As I approached, Krennan took notice of me and the woman turned. It was Mayor Armstead. That’s convenient; now I only need to find Lorna.

“Ah, Naomi; glad to see you on your feet,” the mayor greeted with a smile. “After you collapsed, we were worried that the injury to your leg had taken to festering. Fortunately, that was not the case.”

I nodded. “It was a long day,” I sighed, hopping a bit on my paws to test out my still-sore muscles.

Her face went solemn. “Indeed it was,” she responded darkly. “Thank the Light you were there to help. Warriors are few and far between in our little nation.”

I made a motion as if I were raising an eyebrow – though, I don’t think I really had eyebrows any more. “Warrior?” I wondered aloud. The way she referenced it, it sounded like she was talking about something more than someone who fights.

Mayor Armstead just gave me a mysterious smile. “It’s nothing.”

I looked over to Krennan who simply shrugged. “Alright,” I conceded. “Krennan, you wanted to speak with me?”

He gave a slight nod. “Yes, I did. It’s about the…um…the serum.”

My eyes widened. “Don’t tell me it’s still in Duskhaven,” I exclaimed fearfully. Without that, I’ll…

“I’ll get to come out and play again!”

“Oh, no. We were able to get what we have out,” he assured me. I breathed a sigh of relief. “I made sure that the stores were moved as soon as the evacuation order was given. However…” He trailed off, shuffling uncomfortably.

I stared at him, mind frantically wondering what he was going to say. What would have Krennan so freaked out? My heart rate started to rise. If he’s nervous, I should be, too.

He cleared his throat. “I’m afraid that I do not have the necessary ingredients and equipment to make any more for the foreseeable future,” he announced.

“How…how much do we have?” I gasped.

Krennan cleared his throat again. “Well, after yesterday…” He glanced at the mayor. “Right now, you’re the only worgen who needs it.” My ears fell as I was reminded of the slaughter that met the other worgen. “So long as that remains unchanged, I have enough stocked up for maybe a month.”

“So I have a month left of being me,” I concluded solemnly.

“Unless we can get somewhere where I can get the items I need before then, yes,” he responded. “But that’s not all.” He shifted uncomfortably again. “I know we had a deal, but the Forsaken’s arrival has changed things. I’ve been speaking with Miss Armstead and…I don’t think you should go out and search for your friend quite yet.”

“What?” I blurted out. I hadn’t exactly thought out how I planned on looking for her, but it was still something I had to do. There was no debating it.

“What he’s trying to say is that the Gilnean people need you here,” Mayor Armstead interjected. “When the Forsaken come – and come they will – we will need you. If you went out on this tracking mission, we’d all be at risk.”

“She’s Gilnean, too. She’s out there and she needs me,” I protested.

Mayor Armstead closed her eyes. “I know. But…” She let out a long sigh. “I know.”  We were silent for quite some time. “Like I said; if we stay here, there’s a battle coming. For the time being, we need you to stay here. I implore you; you can make sure your countrymen survive this. Please stay until we can ensure the safety of Duskhaven’s survivors. Haven’t they been through enough?”

Haven’t I been through enough? I wanted to argue further, but what good would it do? I could sneak off to try to find Gwen, but what then? I’d lose control as soon as Krennan’s potion wore off. And if I abandoned them and the Forsaken showed up, I wouldn’t be able to come back. I had little other choice than to wait until I had their leave to go after my friend.

I groaned in frustration. “Fine,” I sighed.

“We really are sorry,” Krennan assured me, diverting eye contact again.

Something occurred to me. “So what happens…what happens if we’re still here and we run out of the serum?” I asked. Specifically, what happens to me?

He seemed to catch my meaning. “I…I don’t know. I will do everything I can to figure something out,” he promised.

“If worse comes to worse, we have some empty pens,” Mayor Armstead pointed out. “We can keep you alive and secured until we find a solution.” She watched my uncomfortable expression. “But I’m sure it won’t come to that.”

I wondered if there were even enough supplies for us to hold out that long. How could they have that much set aside in the manor? The possibility of the curse taking control again, though, sill ate at my mind. “What are the chances you’ll be able to make more if we can get out of here?” I asked.

Krennan shook his head. “I’m not sure. Duskhaven may be a lost cause.” I glanced over at Mayor Armstead and noted a markedly dejected expression. “It is possible that my old students in Stormglen may have some stores of mandrake essence. Otherwise, we’ll have to re-establish trade with the surrounding kingdoms, which will take some time.”

“That is, if there are still people in Stormglen,” the mayor mumbled.

“What do you mean?” I blurted out. “I thought you said you heard from them about Gwen!”

Krennan and Mayor Armstead locked eyes for an uncomfortable moment. “Shortly after we received word your friend wasn’t there, we lost contact with Stormglen. My hunters were unwilling to go into the Blackwald to find out what was going on.”

“Some hunters,” I scoffed.

“If you’d heard the stories, you’d avoid the place, too. So, for all we know, Duskhaven was the last bastion for our people left. And now that, too, may be lost,” she responded. Mayor Armstead looked away for a moment, her eyes glistening. “But at least its people are safe,” she sighed.

“But I will do everything in my power to make sure you remain in control as long as possible…and regain it as quickly as is possible beyond that,” Krennan vowed in order to fill the awkward silence.

“I…I understand…thank you.” I thought about Daniel. He talked about not caring about my condition; about wanting to be with me. It would be impossible if the curse took full control again. I should tell him. Part of me wanted not to, though. Part of me wanted to play out this fantasy that everything would be alright, just a little bit longer. “Was there anything else you needed to talk about, Krennan?” I inquired.

He shook his head. “N-no, I suppose that was all,” he replied.

“Can I make a request?” I blurted out. Krennan nodded quickly. “Could you…could you prepare a week’s worth of the serum for me and pack it into a satchel?” I paused and observed his confused face. “If something happens and I get separated from everyone…I want to be able to stay as myself long enough to…well, to get home,” I explained.

Krennan nodded after a moment. “I’ll have the bag prepared by this afternoon,” he stated. I thanked him and he excused himself from the group, leaving just Mayor Armstead and me.

“He really is quite upset about the situation,” Mayor Armstead pointed out as Krennan ambled away. “He feels like he’s failed you…failed all of us.”

“I imagine there’s nothing he could have done.”

“He doesn’t see it that way. The king tasked him with curing the worgen curse. And, to that end, I would say he succeeded. But in the end, he couldn’t save the ones he brought back. You’re all that’s left and it’s killing him that he can do nothing but watch as his treatment dwindles.”

I stared after Krennan, unable to think of anything in response to that explanation. I wondered how much blame he placed upon himself. If he completely cured the curse and we were able to return to being human, maybe the others wouldn’t have been sent on a suicide mission. Did he think that? I really hoped not.

“I’m more to blame for the people we lost today than he is,” I commented dejectedly.

“Now stop that,” Mayor Armstead insisted. She let out a long sigh. “Walk with me.” She led me away from the railing along the side of the manor. We passed groups of Gilneans who all seemed to be lingering around just looking for something to take their mind off of their current predicament. “Tell me everything that happened,” she invited.

I spent some time recounting the events of the previous day. I told her all the details from the shoreline that I had left out before. I explained the details of the evacuation. “So…if I had done the smart thing and gone straight to the Hayward brothers’ home, they’d still be alive. I could have saved everyone. Their blood is on my hands,” I concluded miserably. We entered a garden at the far end of the manor. Things were strangely peaceful and beautiful here, like nothing of the last couple of days ever happened.

“You’re being dramatic,” Mayor Armstrong stated, shaking her head. “You and Krennan are exactly the same…blaming yourselves for things that were out of your control.”

“But…”

“No. There are no buts here,” she interrupted. “Think about it. If you want to say your decisions got those people killed, then there’s plenty of blame to share. I sent my men with Prince Liam to the shoreline where many of them drowned. I used the town watch to organize the evacuation in town instead of sending more to warn the outlying properties. And if you want to talk about Prince Liam, if he hadn’t been drunk, maybe he leads the men to safety earlier and fewer drown. Lord Godfrey – that sadistic son of a bitch – knowingly sent the other worgen to their death. But you…he tried to do it with you and failed. And if you think the king is blameless in all of this, you are wrong in ways that will make your head spin,” she explained.

What is that supposed to mean? “What did the king do?” I actually asked.

She shook her head. “It’s not for me to say. But if you ever get the chance, ask him about Archmage Arugal; see what he has to say,” she advised. I had a brief recollection of Prince Liam mentioning that name back in Gilneas City. My mind buzzed with questions. “But as I was saying, we could blame ourselves and it ain’t going to do a damn bit of good. At the end of the day, none of this would have happened if the curse hadn’t ravaged our population months ago. None of this would have happened if the Forsaken hadn’t attacked us unprovoked. These are things that we could not control.” She paused for a moment to let it sink in. “They came to wipe us out. All we could do was try to save as many lives as possible.”

“But if I’d only gone there first…”

“Do not focus on the lives that were lost. Focus on the lives you saved…and there were many of them. From what I hear, you alone cut down a sizeable number of them. We actually may stand a chance because of you. Their blood isn’t on your hands, our lives are.” She placed her hand on my shoulder.

I didn’t know how to respond. I felt somewhat better, but I still couldn’t completely shake my guilt. “I got lucky,” I finally said. “I’m no hero.”

Mayor Armstead let out a short chuckle. “You asked me earlier why I cared so much for your safety. Well, there are several reasons. The first, of course, is because I am thankful for what you did at Light’s Dawn. Selflessness like that is rare in this country and I would rather not see it snuffed out. Another reason is that attitude of yours.” I stared at her uncertainly. “You are a hero, whether you think so or not…but there’s a humility to you that proves your nobility.”

“My…nobility?”

“Not in the traditional sense. Look at Lord Godfrey…he’s a noble and he fancies himself a hero. He believes he’s the one who will save Gilneas. You’ve seen how…likeable…he can be. His hubris makes him, well, less than noble; despite his upbringing,” she explained. “You, on the other hand, are not trying to prove you’re a hero…you are simply trying to help when and however you can.”

“I just want to be accepted again.”

“A goal you are well on your way to attaining,” she pointed out, echoing Daniel’s comments from this morning. “There is…one final reason I want your safety,” she added after a moment.

My ears perked up curiously. “Oh?”

She laughed again. “Your father,” she responded. “There was a reason he always made port in Duskhaven,” she mentioned with a sheepish smile. I caught her meaning.

“Why did he never mention anything to me?” I wondered. This seemed like a pretty big deal; I thought he would have told me.

“Your father is a very honorable man. Or, at least that what he would like people to see in him. He felt it would be improper for people to know of us, even though we started seeing each other years after the death of your mother,” Mayor Armstead explained. “Maybe he thought it would hurt my reputation, as well. So when he came in to dock, we would meet for ‘business’ to keep things…clandestine.”

I actually laughed. “Things make a little more sense now.” He is, after all, human. He has needs.

“I’m glad. After all, it is a strange, strange world we live in. It’s always comforting when something makes sense.”

I was quiet for a moment. “A little bit ago, when we were speaking with Krennan, you called me a warrior…what did you mean by that?”

Her head bobbed up and down a bit. “I take it you caught my meaning that I was not simply calling you a fighter.” I nodded in affirmation. “There are people in this world born with certain talents. There are those that have the capability of manipulating light and shadow to move around unseen. Others have the uncanny ability to manipulate the arcane magics. We call them mages. Your friend, as you are well aware, has an astounding attunement to nature. Becoming a druid is not a matter of choice, but of birth. It is the same for the others I have spoken of.”

“And…you think I’m…like that? What ‘powers’ would I have?” I asked in disbelief.

“As I said, what you are is a warrior. Warriors are phenomenally gifted fighters. They are driven by an unparalleled fury that fuels them in the heat of battle. You felt it, didn’t you? Down on the shoreline?”

“It was like…like I wasn’t in control of myself anymore,” I recalled pensively. “I thought that…for a moment…I thought the curse had taken hold.”

“On the contrary…your body was reacting to your needs and survival imperative. As your rage builds in battle, you become more and more dangerous. And yet…and you are living proof of this…though a monstrous berserker in battle, the warrior is typically docile and amicable in day-to-day life. Just like there are only a handful of druids in Gilneas compared to ordinary citizens, true warriors are rare. I can only think of a few others…one we call our king and the other presumably died with you in Light’s Dawn.”

“So I’m some kind of legendary fighter?”

“You have potential. As for legendary…that’s a path you’ll have to cut yourself,” she pointed out.

I sighed. “Well, you can count on me to do everything I can when the Forsaken come knocking,” I assured the mayor. “It’s just…”

“Another request?” she jested.

I nodded. “If I’m going to fight…Could I, you know…have something a little more substantial than cotton clothing?”

She smiled. “I’ll talk to the craftsmen and see what we can put together with what we have here,” she promised. “I’ll take care of that immediately. Was there anything else you wanted to discuss?”

I took a moment to think through it. “No…I suppose there isn’t,” I responded. “Thank you for taking the time to talk to me.”

“Any time.”

Only one more to talk to. “You haven’t seen Lorna Crowley, have you?” I threw in as the mayor started to walk away.

“Last I saw her, she was on the other end of the garden, over there,” she responded, pointing behind me. “If she’s not there, your guess is as good as mine. Ciao, love.”

I nodded and spun around on my paws. I walked slowly through the garden, taking the time to observe the hedges and fountains that adorned the area while I thought through what Mayor Armstead had told me. It was a relief to know what I’d felt wasn’t the curse taking over. But it was strange to think that I was more like Gwen than I had ever realized. I was always just…ordinary.

As I passed a wall of hedges, I caught sight of Lorna leaning against a railing overlooking the sea. There was a frown across her face, but she seemed more pensive than morose. I started to get nervous. I have to tell her everything. I was resolved to do that. I would tell her everything and hope she wasn’t too angry.

“Lorna,” I called gently as I walked up to her.

She jumped, surprised to hear her name being called. “Oh, it’s you, Naomi,” she gasped after she had caught her breath. “You startled me.”

“I have that effect on people.”

“Are you feeling okay? You weren’t looking so great when you made it back yesterday,” she pointed out.

“I’m still a bit tired, but I’m alright,” I assured her.

“I’m glad,” Lorna responded simply. “I was hoping I’d get a chance to speak with you.”

“Same here. I owe you an account of Light’s Dawn.”

“You don’t owe me anything,” Lorna insisted.

“But I do. You saved me from Josiah Avery. The least I can do is tell you the truth.” And so I told her everything that happened at the cathedral. She listened intently and stood there in silence long after I finished my tale. I stared back at her cautiously, trying to read her face for some hint of how she was feeling. Is she angry? Disappointed? I couldn’t read her stone-set face. For some reason, my eyes started to water. “Please say something.”

“What do you want me to say?” she finally asked.

“I don’t know…tell me you hate me or…something.”

She glanced at me in confusion. “Why would I hate you?” She seemed genuinely curious for my reasoning.

“Because I…I turned on you father and his men when I…you know…changed into this,” I responded.

“But you didn’t,” Lorna claimed.

“Wh-what?” I was more than a little taken aback by her response.

“I’ve spoken at length with Krennan Aranas. He interviewed all of the rescued worgen. He told me that they all said the same thing: something had taken over their bodies and they could do nothing but watch. Did they lie?”

I slowly shook my head. “N-no, but…”

“Then you didn’t betray my father. You fought alongside him until the last possible moment. Anything that happened after that…well…I can’t hold you accountable,” she told me. What is going on? Every attempt I made to prove that everyone hated me was failing. “And…and I know that if my father is still out there…When I find him, he’ll try to kill me…because it won’t be him…not really.”

I looked down at the ground. My mind was scanning all of my memories from when the curse had control. I recalled the attack on Keel Harbor. When I attacked Daniel, I hesitated and eventually ran. Why didn’t I kill him? I still didn’t know the answer. The curse had never shown mercy before. “Maybe…maybe not,” I finally stated.

“And what do you mean by that?” Lorna inquired, her voice taking a somewhat hopeful tone.

I told her about Keel Harbor. “I think that maybe, somehow and only for a moment, I was able to hold myself back. Your father is…well, he’s stronger than I will ever be. If anyone can wrestle control from the curse, it’d be him,” I pointed out. Of course, that is if he’s still alive.

Just give me the chance again. We’ll see who controls who. Next time, I’ll bury you forever.” I chose to ignore the voice in my head.

Lorna’s head bobbed up and down a bit. “We can only hope.” She let out a long sigh. “It’s really hard.”

“What is?” I had an idea of what she could be referring to, but I wanted to be sure.

“I hate the worgen…I hate everything that they are. But…I have to remind myself that you…you’re not that. Sure your body is, well, one of them…but the thing that really matters is still human. It’s hard to remind myself of that.”

“Oh,” I sighed. “If it helps, I find it hard not to hate myself, too,” I told her.

She shook her head. “I hate the curse…I don’t hate you…and neither should you,” Lorna advised. “I can only hope that others can make that distinction. Like I said, it’s not easy.”

“No it’s not,” I agreed.

We stood there in silence for a moment, looking out over the cliff to the sea.  The waters were unsettled down below. It was to be expected, given all of the seismic activity and the storms. A thick fog had rolled in, so we couldn’t see very far out to the ocean. I thought I could see large shadows moving, but it had to have been my mind playing tricks on me. There’s no way something could be that high up.

“There you are,” a familiar voice announced behind me, causing my ears to perk up. I spun around to find Daniel walking towards us. He was carrying a large loaf of bread. “I was beginning to wonder if you’d run off again.”

“Sorry. There were some people I needed to touch base with,” I apologized. I don’t know how long it had been since breakfast; I’d lost track of time from having to tell so many tales. “Oh, this is Lorna Crowley, she’s…”

“Lord Crowley’s daughter?” Daniel concluded immediately. He eyed Lorna uncertainly.

Lorna returned the look with an edge of defiance. “There a problem?”

Daniel shook his head quickly. “N-No, of course not. I just…wasn’t expecting to meet someone from the Crowley family…at least not here at the king’s manor,” he sputtered.

I let out a raspy giggle. It was cute seeing him so flustered. “Calm down, Daniel,” I laughed. “She’s a friend,” I assured him.

He nodded.

Lorna continued to study Daniel curiously. “So who are you? Friend of yours, Naomi?”

If I could blush underneath this fur, I probably was. “You could say that, yeah,” I responded. From the change in Lorna’s expression, I expected she took my meaning.

“She has no shortage of friends…not that she’s willing to admit it,” Daniel laughed, nudging up against me. He broke off a hunk of bread and handed it to me. “Here. They’ve started divvying out food for lunch. I figured I’d get you something. It’s not much, but…”

“We should probably start conserving. Light knows how long we’re going to be pent up here,” I finished, holding the bread but not eating any quite yet. Daniel nodded.

“It’d better not be too long,” Lorna scoffed. “There are some things I need to take care of.”

I couldn’t have agreed more with her; though what things she was referring to, I could only guess. I recalled what Krennan had told me about the serum. If I wanted any hope of remaining myself, we needed to get out of here. My stomach twisted uncomfortably. What should I tell Daniel? Should I tell him anything? I knew what he would say. He’d be painfully optimistic and say that we’d figure something out. He’d tell me he’d still want to be with me even if I was a slobbering beast. I closed my eyes. He told me he wouldn’t let my appearance get in the way because they might cure me one day. He carried that ‘what if’ attitude into anything. Why couldn’t I? For all I knew, Krennan would be able to find the materials he needed and I wouldn’t have to worry about it anymore. Then what would be the use of making him worry about it?

“You all happy over there? You look like you’re thinking about something,” Daniel checked in.

I smiled; or at least I think I did. “I’m fine,” I responded. I took a massive chomp out of the hunk of bread to give myself an excuse not to say anything right away. “Just thinking about our situation.” It wasn’t completely a lie.

“We’ll get through it,” Daniel assured me, affirming my earlier suspicious regarding how he’d respond if I told him. He leaned in close. “I have something really important to talk to you about, when you have a moment,” Daniel stated quietly.

Something more important that what we discussed this morning? Unless, it has to do with that. “Okay,” I responded dumbly, mind racing to try to figure it out. I turned to Lorna.

She nodded as if to send me along. “We’re all finished gabbin’ over here,” she announced. “Take care of yourself until we next cross paths, Naomi.”

“You too, Lorna.”  Daniel and I walked away.

We didn’t make it more than a few feet before we ran into someone else. The new woman had short, white hair and wore a magnificent gown. She carried herself very confidently and there was a very regal presence to her.

“Naomi Malmin, I presume,” she stated in an almost-motherly tone.

“Queen Mia,” Daniel gasped, bowing down on one knee. .

I thought so! I had been approached by none other than the queen of Gilneas. “Y-yes, ma’am,” I responded quickly.

She gave me a wide smile. “I have heard much about you. I understand you were crucial in my family’s survival during the outbreak in Gilneas City,” she praised.

“I don’t know if I would say that…” I trailed off.

“Nonsense. It’s just a shame you weren’t able to escape the curse like all of the people you helped. We are all indebted to you.”

“Th-thank you,” I muttered quietly.

“I have a favor to ask you.”

“Ma’am?” What could she possibly want with me?

“You ought to speak with Genn,” she replied. It was weird hearing the king referred to by his first name. “He’s been locked up in his observatory ever since this ordeal started. I’m sure he’s working on a plan for his people. After all, he’s a very…stubborn individual,” Queen Mia explained. “He refuses to see anyone, but I think he might make an exception if it’s you.”

“Why me?” That was a question I could ask on many levels.

“My husband’s taken quite the liking to you. You should have heard him when they brought you in to Duskhaven. Please? I think right now the people don’t need a plan; they need their king. Please see if you can talk him in to coming down,” she pleaded.

Again…why me? I looked over at Daniel. “It’s okay; we can talk in a bit, yeah?” he assured me.

I took a deep breath and let out a long sigh. “I’ll see what I can do.”


Go to Directory                                Next Chapter –>

Leave a comment