The Fall of Gilneas – Chapter 4: Running Wild

The Fall of Gilneas

Chapter 4: Running Wild

I don’t know where I was. If I had to guess…somewhere in the Northgate forest. I was down on all fours, sprinting between the trees. It was really more of a series of small leaps. As I kicked off with my paws to propel me forward, I would catch myself with my padded hands, and the momentum would carry me forward to leap again.

My attentive, sensitive ears picked up the sounds of the rest of the pack running to my sides, but I could not see them in my periphery. My body was too focused on what was ahead. My nose had picked up the scent of deer and my body wanted it. Without my permission, it launched itself in pursuit of food.

Before long, a small herd of deer came into view. As the pack drew closer, delicious-looking creatures detected us and started to run. Did I just…did I just think they looked…fight it! I released a deep howl, akin to the huntsman’s horn. The chase was on.

Unfortunately for the deer, they could not match the speed of a charging worgen. I leapt through the air and caught one in the side, the claws on one of my powerful hands digging deep into its belly and cutting it to ribbons. For a moment, I perked my head up and watched the rest of the pack pursuing the remaining deer. But this one was left for me.

I tried to shut my mind off as my teeth bit into the soft carcass of the poor animal. But the sounds I made – the ripping and gnawing, the sickening squelching sound as my claws and teeth tore flesh from flesh – it always got through. It made me sick. Or rather, I wish it made me sick. That would mean my mind had some level of control, even if it was over involuntary functions like digestion.

I do not know how much time passed since the last stand in the Light’s Dawn Cathedral; weeks…months, maybe. But every second of it was hell. The curse was in full control of my body. However, my mind was still my own. I saw everywhere my body went, heard everything around me, felt everything my body felt. But nothing I thought seemed to hold any sort of sway over the decisions the curse made.

It never tried to communicate with me, but I could feel it…a bitter, angry presence that seemed to relish in my torment. But it seemed the Holy Light was merciful. After the city was lost, the pack returned north, while most all of humans fled south. So for days, I hunted game.

But each hunt, each kill, reminded me what I had become. And then, every night, I was plagued with memories…memories of what I did that night in the cathedral. I could hear the screams of Crowley’s men. I could see the blood dripping from my claws. I never saw what happened to Crowley. He must be dead…like the rest.

I snarled in delight as I ate my fill. Oh, shut up, you. The food was becoming more and more scarce. I went days between proper meals beyond mere scraps and bones. The Northgate woods were huge, but there seemed to be much less in it. I wondered if most of the animals had wised up and headed south as well, sensing the pack was coming. Or maybe the other worgen had hunted the woods clean already. I didn’t rightly know how many there were of us anymore. Us… My mind shuddered a bit every time I counted myself among one of them.

I thought constantly about Gwen and Daniel. I still didn’t know if Daniel was safe. The pack had not headed that far west. Not yet. If he was okay, was he worried about me? Would he ever know what had happened in the city?

And what about Gwen? What did they tell her when she woke up? Would they tell her I had died in battle? Or would she know that I was one of the beasts she had fought so hard against. The image of how she looked at me in the Greymane Court was burned into my memory and only amplified my guilt and sorrow.

But I was certain she was safe, at least. That was the best comfort I could find in my predicament. It was probably the one thing that kept me from losing my sanity from the helplessness and loneliness of being a prisoner in my own body.

I stood up on my paws. I was so much bigger than normal like this. Throwing my arms to the side, I craned my neck, facing the sky, and let out a triumphant howl. Moments later, I was joined by other members of the pack. They seemed thin and hungry. I cocked my head towards the remains of the carcass. Since I was finished with my kill, the less fortunate worgen could feed on what was left.

Why can’t I just let them starve? Why can’t I let all of them starve? There was no answer. I didn’t expect there to be.

Before long, we met up with the rest of the pack and ran wild through the woods for quite some time. At some point, my body laid down to rest. One of the last things I remembered hearing before my mind slipped from consciousness was the distant barking of dogs.

***

Days passed without any sign of something to eat. I could tell the pack was starting to get desperate. Yet, somehow, they still had the sense of community required not to simply kill and eat each other.

As my body became weaker and weaker, as did my mind. It became hard to focus any more. I’m so hungry. If I didn’t find something soon, I’d surely die. I became irrationally excited. If I don’t eat anything soon, I’ll die! That meant my suffering could end!

That was when the pack started heading south. We moved along the Northgate River until we reached the canal that ran throughout the city. My ears perked up, trying to detect the sounds of something to eat.

From the other side of the walls, the city sounded silent. We would have been near Merchant Square at midday. The vendors should have been out and peddling their wares. But there was nothing. Would they ever move back in to the city? I shuddered to think what would happen if they did while the packs roamed the forests. There would most certainly be another attack and, without Lord Crowley, I couldn’t imagine many citizens getting out.

I thought about all the years I’d lived in the confines of the city. I remembered all the time I spent fantasizing of going out and exploring. Now I wanted nothing more than to be living there again resuming my normal, uneventful life. I visualized my father’s old house. I hadn’t set foot in it since that morning before the attack. Everything I owned was probably still there…all those books, all the souvenirs my father had brought home for me. As I thought about it, my body began climbing over the wall.

Daddy… Did he ever return to Gilneas? He often docked in Duskraven, so he would have been safe from the curse, I think. I hoped they would tell him I was dead. I hoped they would tell him about how hard I fought and that I was cut down while defending my friends and neighbors. The fantasy was so much more comforting.

My body hopped down onto the empty cobblestone streets. I began sniffing the air. There was a weak scent about, but I couldn’t identify it. I bent down on all-fours – though I could walk on my hind paws, the thing that controlled me rather enjoyed traveling like a wolf – and wandered through the streets, desperately sniffing for food. The pack was nowhere in sight. Why did I leave them to come into the city? What is it up to?

I went back to thinking about my bedroom. While we were by no means a wealthy family compared to the gentry, we lived very comfortably. Countless days of sleeping curled up in the dirt and rain made me realized how much I had taken for granted. I always thought about what I wanted, I never thought…I never really thought about what I had.

I wandered into the empty marketplace. This is where I played as a child. It was so lively. Now everything is…it’s gone. I remembered the battle that had taken place in this very square. There were no bodies, though I could still see spots where the stone was stained red. Did they eat the dead? I cringed at the thought. My stomach rumbled uncomfortably and I sniffed the air more voraciously, hoping to pick up the scent of food. I searched under crates and in the abandoned stalls, but there was nothing but rotten and decomposing fruits and vegetables. I wonder if old Mister Grandon made it out.

As I searched through the square, I walked past a familiar doorway. I’m home. I stared at the dark door for some time. What is this thing thinking? Why is there so much interest here? Then my body did something unexpected: rearing up on my paws, I approached the door and let myself in.

The house was dark and quiet. I couldn’t help but notice a thin layer of dust had settled on the surfaces. Why are we here? Are you trying to torture me? I wasn’t really talking to…it…but I did wonder. It moved slowly across the floor, the boards creaking beneath me. I started sniffing again. There wouldn’t be much food here. Nothing that this body would want to eat, anyway.

After the kitchen yielded nothing of value, I made my way upstairs. There’s definitely nothing up there, cork-head, I taunted. I still couldn’t figure out what we were doing here. It walked down the hallway, directly to my bedroom. What in the Light is going on, here? I opened the door and stepped inside.

It was just how I left it. The books sat quietly on the shelf, waiting for the day that someone would come along and read them again. That day would surely never come. There was a strange sadness in the thought. My clothes sat hanging in the wardrobe or sitting on the floor, as was my custom. Everything was in its place, just like I remembered. This was it…this is how I left it when my life ended.

To my surprise, a soft whine rose out of my throat. Tentatively, my body moved towards the bed and climbed onto it. It was so soft, especially compared to where I had been sleeping. I lay there, my mind deeply, deeply confused. Maybe the hunger was making the creature delirious. Without food, my weakened body grew tired and I fell asleep.

***

I was in Keel Harbor, sitting on top of a fence. Across the street was the blacksmith’s forge. The sun was starting to set; I could tell because the light that snuck through the clouds was turning orange. I gazed around at the peaceful landscape. To the east, I could see Gilneas City in the distance, the chapel reaching to the sky like a beacon.

I wasn’t waiting long before I heard, “I remember you. Was there something you needed to change about your order? The blacksmith has gone home for the evening.” I turned my attention back to the forge. Daniel walked out, wearing a dirty, heavy smock, sweat glistening on his brow. .

“No. Actually, I was waiting for you,” I responded boldly. It was the day I had met him. My father had sent me to the smith to have a new rapier crafted for him before he left on his next voyage the following week. When I had arrived at the smith, Daniel was the only one there. I couldn’t help but stare at him while he took the order. I kept him occupied from his work by chatting him up quite a bit. Something possessed me to wait around for him to finish up.

He chuckled. “Waiting for me? Why in the name of the Light would you be waiting for me? I’m just the apprentice.” Daniel seemed completely oblivious to my intentions.

“I wanted to see if you would accompany me to the tavern to get a bite to eat,” I proposed, hopping down from the fence and smiling a coquettish smile.

He shuffled. “Wh-wha…what do you mean?” he stammered uncomfortably. I could see his cheeks redden beneath those sideburns.

“Oh, you know,” I basically sang, wandering up close to him. “We could continue our conversation. You could tell me about what it’s like being a blacksmith’s apprentice over a haunch of pork…see where the night goes from there.” I was being so unbelievably forward, he probably thought I was a chit, but I wasn’t sure I minded.

Tentatively, he accepted my invitation and my surroundings sort of blurred. The world swirled and sped past me, as if some sort of time magic were making time move faster. I watched everything: our first “date,” the sparring practices, our first kiss, and then when we went…further…I watched it all pass in a matter of seconds.

Then, I heard a chilling howl that froze me to my very core. I saw Josiah’s rabid muzzle sink its teeth into my arm. I screamed and the world went black.

In an instant, I found myself back in Keel Harbor, sitting on the fence outside the blacksmith. It felt darker, more somber, but I didn’t look around. I kept my keen eyes focused on the entrance to the forge.

Daniel emerged. “I remember you. Was there something you needed to change about your order? The blacksmith has gone home for the evening,” he curiously inquired.

No, I’ve been waiting for you. I didn’t say it. Instead, I launched myself towards him and leapt through the air. As I neared, I noticed the long claws and dark fur at the end of my arms. I had him pinned to the ground, staring down at that strong, meaty throat. I was so hungry.

In one swift motion, I lashed out.

***

Daniel! My eyes snapped open. That’s strange, the nightmares woke it up. I was still lying on my old bed. The pain in my stomach was becoming overwhelming. How much longer will it take to starve? I could barely stand it. I just wanted it to end.

My mind returned to the dream. I had relived every happy moment, every little glimmer of warmth that I had felt with him. Then, it was ripped out of my hands. It wasn’t a memory, at least not all of it.

“What are we looking for anyway?” I heard a voice ask outside the house. My body reacted instantly, rolling out of the bed and creeping towards the balcony.

“Keep your voice down,” another voice hissed. “What if those mangy beasts are around.” The second man was much quieter. I quietly opened the door and slinked across the balcony, trying to sneak a peek of whoever was talking.

“Oh come off it, mate. You know there aren’t going to be any beasties here. There’s no food for ‘em. There probably still up north,” the other laughed loudly.

Two men came into view, walking down a nearby alley. One was short and rather portly. The other was more of an average build and seemed very nervous. They dressed in dark clothes that seemed to be of a lower quality. Oh no, what are these guys doing here? Run! Get out! I screamed it all in my head, but I knew they couldn’t hear me.

My stomach churned and gurgled. I knew what this body was planning.

“You heard the reports. Some of them have been sighted moving south as of late,” the other muttered in a low voice. “Have you heard about that one that’s prowling the Blackwald? Nasty little bitch; always hunts alone. Always kills her prey. What if there are more like her?” I wondered what he was talking about.

“Cause if there were more, she would kill them. So what are we looking for?” the first one repeated.

“Armstead told us to bring scavenge whatever we can trade abroad for more ingredients for the alchemist,” the second responded. “That and the merchant wants some sort of trinket to remember his little girl by,” he added.

“That one that went with Crowley?” Are they talking about me?

“One and the same.” They stopped in front of my house, just below where I hid. I could hear a quiet snarl bubbling up from my throat. My body wanted to kill…to feast. “This is the address the guy gave us. What say we see what kind of bauble we can find to assuage a grieving father.”

They’re coming in! My body spun around, muscles tensing up. I could hear them chattering down the stairs. Drawers were being opened and things thrown about. One of them trudged up the stairs. I could hear from the heavy steps that it was the fatter one. My mouth started to water. No, don’t do it!

Still huddled low to the ground on the balcony, I heard my bedroom door creak open. “Oy! I think I found her room, Smithie!” the larger man yelled. He stepped in. “I’m sure we’ll find something up here.” I could hear the sound of the other ascending the stairs.

I began to growl menacingly. The fat man froze, seemingly paralyzed with fear. Slowly, body shaking, he turned towards the balcony, turning white as a sheet when he saw me there.

Without warning, I launched myself towards him. No! My mind screamed in horror. I had to find a way to stop it. But I couldn’t. My body moved on its own, consumed by hunger and rage. I sank my teeth deep into the fat man’s shoulder and he bellowed in agony. I’m so…so sorry. There’s nothing I can do…

“Hey! Get away from him!” I heard Smithie yell. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw him readying a pistol. I let go, tearing a bit of flesh off to chew on. I let out a menacing snarl as Smithie pointed his firearm at me. I dashed to the side right as the muzzle flashed and the bullet whizzed past my shoulder. I collided with the wall, bounced back and leaped onto the balcony. I could hear the barking of hounds and the yells of other men nearby.

Stay…I dare you. And see how long you last. I roared at the two in my bedroom before launching myself from the balcony. I sprinted for the wall, but another Gilnean armed with a rifle turned the corner in front of me. Please, get out of my way! I knew exactly what this body had planned.

Unluckily, the hunter missed his shot and I was on top of him before he could reload. I dug my claws deep into his belly as I filled my mouth with his arm muscles. Not wanting to wait around for more to come, despite my best efforts otherwise, my body moved on. As I reached the wall, I jumped high into the hair and climbed the rest of the way, hopping down on the other side.

I landed hard and lay on the ground for a moment, catching my breath. I could feel the satisfaction…the pride…the creature inhabiting my body felt. I just…I just killed someone… I wished I could cry; I wished I could show even a sliver of remorse.

The pain in my stomach subsided somewhat and the taste of meat still lingering on my tongue. I…I ate a person, I realized in horror. Other worgen showed up nearby, drawn by the sound. I could hear quite the ruckus on the other side of the wall. They were looking for stuff to salvage…to trade. And I had brought the pack to them. Why won’t I just die?

We saw movement off to the west. People were rushing out of the gate from Cathedral Square. One of the pack howled and the chase was on. As we got closer, I could make out horse-drawn carriages barreling down the road to the west. They must’ve been heading for the harbor towns. There were armed men stationed on top of the carriages. More people were running on foot.

We were almost on top of the runners when they turned around, aimed, and fired a salvo of bullets into the pack. Some of the worgen ahead of me dropped to the ground, but we pressed forward, roaring with rage. Why is this happening? Why did we have to come to the city?

I watched on in horror as my body launched itself on top of one man while he was reloading. I wanted to gag when I ripped out his throat with my powerful jaws and warm blood spewed into my mouth; but the curse that controlled my body only seemed to enjoy it. I didn’t stay long before resuming the chase and jumping on another poor fellow. They’re just defending themselves! We could leave and no one would have to die. But my pleas fell on deaf ears, like always.

Before long, the men on foot were all dead. I had personally killed five of them and their expressions of horror as I went in for the kill were burned into my brain. This can’t be happening. This cannot be happening!

We gave chase to the carriages, the pack not wanting to give up the opportunity for more food. We sprinted on all fours along the road. The carriages headed south at the crossroads, towards the harbor towns – as I expected. We were slowly gaining on them; the horses were faster than the other game we usually hunted, but they were weighed down by the carts and people.

However, as we bounded over the crest of a hill, Keel Harbor came into view. Thank the Light, they’ll make it there before we catch them. A couple members of the pack let out vicious, bloodthirsty howls and kept charging forward. They can’t be serious; they’re going to attack the town?

The alarm bells began to resound and I could see innocent people rushing from their homes and running towards the docks. I could hear shouting – something about an evacuation. They’re going to the boats! My realization came with no small amount of relief. Out to sea was probably the only place we couldn’t reach them. They would be safe, so long as they left the docks before we reached them.

The earsplitting sound of gunshots met our howls and I could see muzzle flashes from rifles all around in front of us. There were guards firing from the ground and windows facing our advance. And yet, the pack pushed forward. I began to hope that this was some kind of last-ditch suicide mission. Maybe there was someone in this town that would finally kill me and put an end to the curse.

As I heard the whimpers and whines as my pack started to fall, one-by-one, I prayed that the next one would be me. But I wasn’t that lucky.

I could feel a rabid determination coursing through my body. It was driven by something more than desperation and starvation. It wanted something; and that scared me. I only stopped to kill the guards that stood in my path as I delved deeper into the town. I was alone.

I skidded to a halt in front of a familiar building. The forge was quiet, but I could feel a heat emanating from it. Whoever was here had just left. I knew what the curse was looking for. No…let’s just leave. Let’s get out of here.

I began sniffing the air. He’s probably dead anyway. There’s no point looking for him. But it wouldn’t listen to my desperate logic. Ah! I picked up a scent – a familiar scent that brought back beautiful memories that I allowed to flood my mind for a moment before shattering them with the realization of what this meant: I found him and I was going to try to kill him.

I took off down the road towards the docks. The citizens were close to the ships now, rushing forward in a tight group. There were fewer guards here; they must have mostly been fighting at the front line.

Then I saw him. Daniel was standing on the dock, urging the group onward. He was one of the closest people to me. I could hear him yelling for them to hurry. He held his sword. See me, Daniel, I prayed. See me so you can run!

Someone screamed. Heads turned and the group began to panic as I charged at them. One man stood between my love and I. I lunged past him, digging my claws into his chest and throwing the man to the ground without hardly breaking a step and continued to charge towards Daniel.

He spun on his heels to face me, sword at the ready. I leapt into the air. I could feel the anticipation – the excitement that my body was enjoying. I could only watch. Right as I reached him, my long arm knocked his sword away and I crashed into him, tackling him to the ground.

He squirmed and wrenched his body, trying to free himself, but I had him pinned. I stared down into his face. There was so much anger and defiance in his eyes. Daniel…no…

“Do it!” he yelled. “End it, you filthy beast!”

I roared at him and raised a claw, preparing to bring it down for the kill. I could feel the muscles moving. No! Stop! I screamed in my head.

To my surprise, my body actually stopped, claws mere inches from Daniel’s face. I moved my claw back and stared down into his face again, a soft whine escaping my snout. Did…did it actually listen? I felt something – a small bit of dampness on the fur beneath my eye.

I watched incredulously as my body slowly backed away from Daniel, continuing to whine. There was so much confusion swirling through me. I could feel a rapid alternation between murderous rage and regret and…affection?

He scrambled to his feet, picking up his sword and brandishing it at me. I just waited, hunched over on all fours and stared at him. As our eyes met, he lowered his weapon just slightly.

Suddenly, another gunshot rang out and I felt something bite into my side. I yelped in pain and ran away, leaving Daniel behind. I…I didn’t kill him! Despite everything that had happened, all the people I had killed today, my mind was ecstatic. The curse had actually listened to me, if only for a moment. And now, I was shot, probably dying. It’s going to be over!

I dodged in between houses and rushed out of the town, heading east. I could see the corpses of other members of the pack lying upon the ground going into the town. I couldn’t see any others. Was I the only one left of this particular pack?

A high-pitched whistle reached my ears and I winced. Shortly thereafter, the barking of hounds could be heard. This time, I was the one being hunted.

As I ran, I moved slower and slower; my body becoming weak from the wound. They were closing in; I could hear the dogs clearly as well as the sound of hooves on stone. I made for the Northgate Forest, obviously expecting to lose them in the trees. I had no idea if I would make it and prayed I wouldn’t.

I reached the tree line just as the hounds came into my peripheral vision. They were running alongside me, but not attacking. I could hear the men on horseback behind me, hollering – whether at the dogs or at me, I couldn’t be sure.

The pain from the wound was becoming nearly unbearable, far worse than the hunger. My body pushed itself onward, veering north to try to put some distance between me and the hounds. Then, a hound got in front of me. I scrambled to a halt and radically changed directions.

The trees flew past me as I ran and wind whipped across my ears, dampening all other noise. My vision was starting to go blurry. Not much longer now.

Then, all of a sudden, something hard clamped down on my right paw. I let out a distressed, agonized yelp and fell to the ground, sliding a couple feet. I quickly twisted around and saw an iron contraption around my ankle with sharp teeth that bit into the skin. It was chained to the ground to keep me in place. A bear trap? Were they…were they herding me here?

The hounds ran forward and began circling around me, growling menacingly. I didn’t have the strength anymore to try to threaten them. I tried to crawl away, but I couldn’t get my leg free. I fell flat against the earth, exhausted and panting heavily.

A couple pairs of boots walked into my field of vision. I looked up and saw two hunters staring down at me, rifles primed on my head. My vision was fading. Just do it already. I can’t stand it. I let out a pathetic whimper. The curse knew it had gotten itself killed.

“Is that her?” one whispered to the other.

“Hell if I know. These things all look alike to me,” the other scoffed.

“You saw how it acted didn’t you? Do you think there’s a chance?”

“Let’s get her over to Greymane and let him sort it out.” Are they not going to kill me?

No…please…just do it! Please…end my suffering. I slipped out of consciousness while praying they would grant me my wish.

***

I awoke in a strange, dark place. I could hear the telltale sounds of a thunderstorm, but I was somewhere dry. My right paw ached, as did my side. But I also felt a pressure around my ankle and belly. It felt like bandages. Why would anyone waste the time trying to heal my wounds?

A pleasant smell reached my nostrils and my stomach rumbled. I smell meat. Carefully, my body rose to its feet. It hurt to put weight on the right paw, so it was left hanging above the rocky floor. I put a hand on the wall for support and felt uneven ridges of rock. I was in some sort of cave.

I looked towards the entrance and saw a heavy steel gate over the mouth of the cave. So it’s a prison. There wasn’t much light coming in from outside and I could see the rain slapping against the cobblestone pathway just outside.

I sniffed the air again and my eyes followed the scent to the corner of the cave near the gate. There was a small pile of what looked like slabs of venison visible in the dim lighting. My body rushed forward as quickly as I could, hobbling and falling multiple times from the pain in my ankle. Finally, I reached the meat and ravenously devoured it.

As much as I hated to admit it, I was glad for the food. I was tired of being in so much pain. If whoever had me locked up here wanted to humiliate me instead of killing me, I would rather not be hurting all over.

After my little meal, my body moved closer to the gate, grasping at the bars. There wasn’t much room between them; definitely not enough for me to get a whole arm out. I was sure that was intentional. They wouldn’t want me taking a swipe at whoever they would send to laugh at me.

I stuck my snout through one of the small openings and could feel cold rain on my nose. Instinctively, I started sticking out my tongue to lap up the water as it fell from the sky.

While my body drank, I turned my attention to what lied beyond the bars. I seemed to be at the top of some large hill. I assumed the cave was built into the side of the mountains in the southern region of the peninsula. The stone path led down the hill to the side. Beyond the hill, I could see a buildings – a town. I felt like I recognized the town, but I had never seen it from this angle.

Duskhaven.

So instead of killing me like the rest of my pack, the hunters decided to cage me up and ship me off to Duskhaven. What came next? A trial? I almost wanted to laugh imagining how that would go. It would be the fastest sentencing ever, followed swiftly by a bullet or the guillotine. How stupid. They could have just done that back in the forest.

I heard footsteps sloshing through puddles. I backed my snout out of the gate so I could orient to the sound. I could see a man walking towards me through the shadows in the storm. He wore a long greatcoat and a tall top hat. He moved slowly, as if reluctant to even be anywhere near this place.

As he came closer, I could see the grey hair and beard and small, circular glasses resting on a narrow, aged face. Lord Godfrey had come to visit. His clothing was ill-suited for the weather, and yet here he was.

He stopped in front of my cage, he stared down at me. I could see his sunken, conniving eyes narrow as he studied me. “Look at what you’ve become,” he spat. “Those cursed beasts…” He paused, continuing to survey me with disgust. “They’ve left you nothing more than just another mongrel.”

I let out a low, almost inaudible growl.

“Do you even remember what you did to your friends?” he inquired, obviously not expecting a response. I had a sinking suspicion it was just an attempt to make me feel guilty for everything that had happened. It worked. I was instantly plagued with memories of that night at Light’s Dawn.

“Your kind…haunting the wilds, unchecked,” he continued spitefully. “Until we found you…” Really, it was me who was stupid enough to attack the town. “They’ve kept you alive because they still believe you can be saved.” His voice was little more than a raspy hiss at this point.

Saved?

Lord Godfrey took off his hat and moved forward to kneel in front of the gate to my prison. He was on eye level with me, with nothing but steel bars between us. I continued to growl, challenging him to open the gates and see who could intimidate whom. “To which I must ask: is there even a shred of humanity left within you?” I could feel his piercing gaze upon me, as if he were trying to stare into my very soul.

I’m here! I knew he couldn’t hear me, but I wanted to be noticed. I wanted to tell him that I was still stuck in here. Then, my body once again did something unexpected: I shrank away into the shadows, breaking eye contact and turning a bit in a show of shame.

Lord Godfrey scoffed in surprise. “Perhaps…” He turned to walk away. His last words stuck with my mind, giving me a brief glimmer of hope.

“We will find out soon enough.”


Go to Directory                                Next Chapter –>

1 comment

Leave a comment